Elected Officials

Roselle is incorporated as a borough. The salaried governing body is the Borough Council which is made up of six members and a mayor. The mayor and council representative-at-large are elected by the entire borough. The remaining five council members are elected from five wards, one from each ward in which the member resides. Term of office for mayor is four years; council members, three years.

Roselle has the "weak" mayor-council form of government. The mayor has less control and the council more over fiscal operations and the appointment and removal of executive officers. The mayor has no vote except in case of a tie. The mayor can veto legislation, but the veto can be overridden by two-thirds vote of the council.

A borough administrator, appointed by the Borough Council, tends to the day-to-day operations of the municipal government.

The council is the law-making body of the borough. Ordinances, the laws of the municipality, must have two readings before adoption by council. At least ten days must elapse between date of submission (first reading) and the final passage (second reading). During this time, the ordinance must be published in the newspaper and citizens given an opportunity to be heard at a public hearing.